New Zealand Finance Colloquium 2023 Best Paper Award Ceremony

School of Economics and Finance Victoria University of Wellington February 16-17, 2023

Sponsors of Awards







CFA Institute[®] Asia-Pacific Research Exchange



MINISTRY OF BUSINESS, INNOVATION & EMPLOYMENT HĪKINA WHAKATUTUKI









2023 NZFC Organising Committee

Michael Keefe (Chair) Toby Daglish Griffin Geng Hai Lin Cheng Zhang Jinji Hao

Administration Support

Francine McGee

Website Support

Mark Woods

Best PhD Student Paper Award

Presented by

Nick Nguyen

Professor of Finance

Director of Centre for Financial Research Research

Auckland University of Technology



Best PhD Student Paper Awards (Equal Split)

Green Innovation and Voluntary Carbon Disclosure

by

Heng Geng (Victoria University of Wellington), Hai Lin (Victoria University of Wellington), Ilan Noy (Victoria University of Wellington), and Zijun Zhao (Victoria University of Wellington)

and

Credit Risk Assessment: Does Corporate Culture Matter?

by

Harvey Nguyen (Massey University), Mia Hang Pham (Massey University), and Quynh Pham (Massey University)

BLR Outstanding Research Award

Founders of the colloquium

B for Glenn Boyle (University of Canterbury)

L for **Martin Lally** (Former faculty and current seminar attendee of Victoria University)

R for Larry Rose (California State University San Bernardino)

BLR Outstanding Research Award

Judicial Independence and Corporate Innovation: Evidence from the Establishment of Circuit Courts

by

Shaojie Lai (Jiangxi University of Finance and Economics) Laifeng Yang (Shandong University) Qing (Sophie) Wang (Jiangxi University of Finance and Economics) Hamish D. Anderson (Massey University)

CFA ARX Best Paper Award

Presented by

Christina Leung, CFA

Principal Economist & Head of Auckland Business

Head of Membership Services

New Zealand Institute of Economic Research



CFA ARX Best Paper Award

Insider Trading and Corporate Board Reforms: International Evidence by Dien Giau (Richard) Bui (Yuan Ze University) Harvey Nguyen (Massey University) Mia Hang Pham (Massey University) Craigs Investment Partners Best Paper Award for Capital Markets

> Presented by **Rousseau Lötter,** PhD, CFP Head of Portfolio Analytics



Craigs Investment Partners Best Paper Award for Capital Markets

Broker and Institutional Investor Short Selling by Ben R. Marshall (Massey University) Nhut H. Nguyen (Auckland University of Technology) Nuttawat Visaltanachoti (Massey University) Jennifer Zhu (New Zealand Exchange)

INFINZ Best Paper Award for Investments

Presented by Jim McElwain

Executive Director

Institute of Finance Professionals New Zealand Inc



INFINZ Best Paper Award for Investments

Firm-Specific Climate Risk and Market Valuation by Henk Berkman (University of Auckland and University of Sydney) Jonathan Jona (Tulane University) Naomi Soderstrom (University of Melbourne)

Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) Best Paper Award for Capital Markets

Presented by

Peter Ranger

Senior Policy Advisor

Financial Markets | Small Business, Commerce and Consumer Policy



MINISTRY OF BUSINESS, INNOVATION & EMPLOYMENT HĪKINA WHAKATUTUKI

Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) Best Paper Award for Capital Markets

Broker and Institutional Investor Short Selling by Ben R. Marshall (Massey University) Nhut H. Nguyen (Auckland University of Technology) Nuttawat Visaltanachoti (Massey University) Jennifer Zhu (New Zealand Exchange)

NZX-CGI Best Paper Award in Corporate Governance

Presented by Kristin Brandon

Head of Policy and Regulatory Affairs



NZX-CGI Best Paper Awards (two) in Corporate Governance

Ex-EPA Employees: Regulatory Schooling or Greenwashing?

by

Ben R. Marshall (Massey University)

Justin Hung Nguyen (Massey University)

Nhut H. Nguyen (Auckland University of Technology)

Buhui Qiu (University of Sydney)

Nuttawat Visaltanachoti (Massey University)

and

Do Co-opted Boards Influence Financial Statement Readability?

by

Ammar Ali Gull (*ESSCA* and *Vietnam National University*) **Muhammad Tahir Suleman (University of Otago)** Asad Ali Rind (*South Champagne Business School*) Rizwan Mushtaq (OCRE Research Laboratory)