Welcome to the website of the New Zealand Finance Colloquium

The New Zealand Finance Colloquium was an initiative introduced in 1996 to promote the discussion, dissemination and development of finance related research within New Zealand. The colloquium is an annual event organised and held at universities throughout the country.

20th Annual (2016) New Zealand Finance Colloquium

The 20th annual New Zealand Finance Colloquium was hosted by the Department of Accountancy and Finance, Otago Business School, University of Otago, Dunedin at the Rydges Lakeland Resort in Queenstown.

The following papers received awards:

NZ Finance Colloquium Awards

  • INFINZ - best paper in investment ($1,000)
    The effect of fund managers’ status on money flows, performance, and risk-taking behaviors
    Jerry T Parwada, University of New South Wales
    Kian M. E. Tan (known as Eric Tan), University of Otago

  • Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment (MBIE) - best paper in Capital Markets ($1,000)
    Herding in analysts’ recommendations: The role of media
    Bart Frijns , Auckland University of Technology
    Thanh D. Huynh, Auckland University of Technology

  • Auckland Centre for Financial Research - best PhD student paper($1,000)
    Modelling VXX
    Sebastian Gehricke, University of Otago

  • Bloomberg - best Corporate Finance paper ($1,000)
    Do All Diversified Firms Hold Less Cash? The International Evidence
    Christina Atanasova, Simon Fraser University
    Ming Li, Simon Fraser University

  • BLR Forsyth Barr - best overall paper ($1,000)
    EFT Liquidity
    Ben Marshall, Massey University
    Nhut Nguyen , Massey University,
    Nuttawat Visaltanachoti, Massey University

Notice Board

2017 NZ Finance Collquium

The 2017 New Zealand Finance Colloquium will be hosted by The University of Auckland.