Welcome to the website of the New Zealand Finance Colloquium

The New Zealand Finance Colloquium was an initiative introduced in 1996 to promote the discussion, dissemination and development of finance related research within New Zealand. The colloquium is an annual event organised and held at universities throughout the country.

22nd Annual (2018) New Zealand Finance Colloquium

The 22nd Annual New Zealand Finance Colloquium will be hosted by the School of Economics and Finance, Massey Business School, Massey University on the Palmerston North campus.

The event will include a PhD symposium on 7th February followed by the colloquium on 8th - 9th February.

Awards and Prizes

The following prizes will be awarded at the 2018 New Zealand Finance Colloquium

We have now confirmed a prize of $1000 from the NZX for the best paper based on or highly applicable to the NZX markets, considering equity and/or debt and/or dairy, with particular attention to corporate governance, trading practices and cost of capital.

PhD Symposium Awards

  • Auckland Centre for Financial Research (AUT Business School)
    best PhD student paper ($1,000)

Colloquium Awards

  • BLR outstanding research award
    This prize acknowledges the founders of the colloquium.
    Professor Glenn Boyle, Dr Martin Lally and Professor Larry Rose.

  • CFA ARX Best Paper Award ($1,000).
    The award entails a NZ $1,000 prize with a focus on Asia-Pacific and applied investment related papers.
    In addition to submitting papers through the New Zealand Finance Colloquium website, applicants must upload papers/abstract to the CFA Institute Asia-Pacific Research Exchange website ( to be eligible for the ARX Best Paper Award.

  • INFINZ - Best Paper award for Investments ($1,000)

  • MBIE - Best Paper award for Capital Markets ($1,000)

Notice Board

Programme, Parking and Campus map

The final programme is now available
»» view programme
»» view campus map

Parking is available at the Orchard Road carpark (refer map above). There is a maximum daily rate of $4.00.
($2.50 for up to 4 hours)

Timetable Overview

Thursday 8th February
12.00 Lunch
13.00 - 15.00 Parallel Sessions 1
15.00 - 15.30 - Break
15.30 - 17.30 - Parallel Sessions 2
18.30 for 19.00 Dinner

Friday 9th February
08.30 - 10.00 Parallel Sessions 1
10.00 - 10.30 Break
10.30 - 12.00 Parallel Sessions 2
12.00 - 13.00 Lunch and Business Meeting
13.00 Colloquium Concludes

2018 NZFC | Massey University

The 22nd annual New Zealand Finance Colloquium will be hosted by Massey University,
Palmerston North on 7-9 February 2018.

PhD Symposium - 7th February
Colloquium - 8th-9th February

Submission has now closed

Notification of acceptance has been sent so please make contact if you have not received an email.

»» register now

Managerial Finance special issue

Managerial Finance special issue: Interdisciplinary finance

»» view the Managerial Finance CFP